My Acrylic Nails: Experience & Tips!

I am so excited to be finally writing this post! Ever since I started getting acrylics last summer, I’ve wanted to blog all about them. So today I’m finally getting to it!

I’m going to section off this post into categories so I don’t ramble on. πŸ˜‰ So let’s tackle the first one.

EXPERIENCE.

I have had a really good experience with acrylics. I’m sure there are horror stories out there and people saying they’ll never get them because they’re harmful and blah blah. I have to admit this is what kept me from getting acrylics for quite a while – just the whole stigma that my nails would be forever ruined and get infected. But finally I just wanted to try them and figured it couldn’t be that dramatic, and went in to get them done. I was immediately hooked!

Processed with VSCO with e8 preset
My sister and I’s first acrylics: mine are the greyish-purple on the right!

The first color I chose, shown above, I wore to a beach trip with my sister. They held up through the entire vacation and even though it wasn’t a super beachy color, I loved how they looked!

img_2939

I had decided when I first got them that I wanted a mid-length almond shape that was a tiny bit more pointed than the typical oval. I’m glad I went with that because it ended up being perfect for my nail type!

img_3585
I loved this darker color, it was a deep maroon!

My sister had her nails occasionally chip or break off, but I never had so much as a tiny chip. I think this really depends on your day-to-day, because acrylics are really strong. My job basically involves a lot of typing, so it’s not that intense on my nails. However, my sister’s job was a lot of lifting and sorting and more hands-on, so her nails were under more stress throughout the day. So that’s something to keep in mind!

Processed with VSCO with e8 preset

As far as adjusting, this really depends on the length you choose. I’ve always naturally had short nails, so jumping from that to long acrylics was a STRUGGLE at first. Buttoning shirts or grabbing small things like zippers or paperclips was almost impossible until I got used to the longer nails being in the way. Typing of any sort, on my phone or on a keyboard, was also an ordeal until my fingers adjusted.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Gold nails – probably my favorite color I’ve ever gotten!

Overall, I’ve been really happy with my acrylics and I’ve always had a great experience with them. I know everyone is different, but if you’ve been wanting to try them – just do it! They can always be removed. And then you’ll know if you prefer them or not. I certainly ended up obsessed with them and they really work for me. πŸ™‚

Tips & Advice.

There are definitely a few things I learned that are important (in my opinion) when considering getting acrylics as well as consistently keeping them.

First, I would say to research! The things I looked into were salons, salon reviews, different pricing, and different nail shapes.Β I’m a planner, so I love to be prepared. πŸ˜‰

I think it’s good to know exactly what you want before going in, because they’re going to try to convince you to buy certain things or get a different shape or use a polish that’s pricier. Knowing your own mind in a salon is key, so that when they push different things at you, you’re not distracted into getting something you don’t like. This also avoids wasting money!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
My gold nails when I was in Las Vegas last October!

Second, make sure you have the time and money to invest in keeping up with acrylics. At the first salon I went to, it cost $45 total to start them (that was with tip included). And then it’s standard to go back every two weeks to get a fill. Fills cost me $35 totalΒ (tip included) each time. So at that salon, my nails cost around $80 total the first month, and then $70 each month going forward.

Of course, pricing will vary depending on your area and the salon you choose, as well as what percentage you tip. I always tip above average because if I’m going to become a regular and go to one person,Β I like to establish aΒ good relationship with my nail tech.

Processed with VSCO with e8 preset

Lastly, find the salon that’s a perfect fitΒ for you. I can’t stress this one enough! The first salon I went to ended up being a very uncomfortable and unpleasant environment, and it got to the point where I was dreading each appointment. Try different places until you find one that you feel comfortable in, enjoy the people, and look forward to your appointments.

 

Processed with VSCO with e8 preset
Nails & Coffee πŸ™‚

 

I think that’s everything I wanted to cover in this post! I love having acrylics and I definitely plan on keeping them.

If you want to hear more, you can watch my youtube video that went live today! I talk a bit more about my thoughts on acrylics and go into more detail about my bad nail salon story.

 

I hope you have an amazing weekend!

xoxo,

Blair

Leave a Reply

